When I Loved Sunshine

My goodness, dear,
I have not yet seen
This breathtaking beauty
For the many years
I have been enslaved
In this cold and dark cage
Where there is only nothing
But nightmares and darkness…

Now I have seen the opposite
Of where I have been,
I can feel the cool breeze
Rushing onto my wrinkly face

And this heat,
This refreshing heat
That I have never felt before,
It draws me closer

and closer

and closer
to its warm embrace

It keeps on drawing me in
Until I feel like
m e l t i n g
m e l t
i n g

..
.

. .

And now I feel light despite
This otherworldy powerful might
What I loved had just killed me
As I fell into the deep blue sea


Featured Image by Gabriel Picolo

Leave a Comment

