Love is in the little things.

Love is in the little things.

Love is in the shortest greeting
that I tell her every morning,
And in the longest ones
when it’s time to sleep.

Love is in the smallest pieces of paper
where I write the reasons I love her.

Love is in the oldest songs that we sing together,
in the lyrics that we don’t quite understand.
Love is in the quirkiest songs that we dance together,
in those steps that we can’t figure out how to dance.

Love is in the cheapest food that we eat
on the streets where I never walked before.
Love is in the coins that I save
so we could eat more of those cheap treats.

Love is in the corniest jokes
and the cutest giggles that she makes
when she knows I’m about to frown.

Love is in every step that matters when we’re walking
together holding hands on freshly cut grass.
Love is in every second that matters to us.

Love is in the gums on her smile showing out.
Love is in the tiniest pimples on her forehead
that I just can’t resist looking at.
Love is in her messy hair that I don’t fix
because she is gorgeous enough.

Love is in the tiniest drop of saliva when we kiss.
Love is in the lightest breath I blow
when we stare at each other’s eyes.

Love is in the tightest hugs that we give each other
when we don’t want to let go.
Love is in the lightest touch when no one wants to go.

Love is in every sorry that I make
whenever I happen to hurt her feelings.
Love is in every little mistake
that I learn my lesson from.

Love is in the tiniest drop of tears from my eyes
whenever she says she’s giving up.
Love is in the faintest wailing from my throat
whenever she says she’s breaking up.

Love is in the loudest shouts of, “I love you so.”
Love is in the faintest whispers of, “Please don’t go.”

Love is in her forgiveness,
no matter how big or small the problem is.

Love is in the little things
that she makes big.


For Aerielle Maerie

2 thoughts on “Love is in the little things.

Leave a Comment

