Just One Mermaid

How many boats do I need to launch
So that I could sail towards you?
Just one. Or a thousand.
As much as I need you.

How many sailors do I need
To assist me in my boat?
Just one. Or a thousand.
As much as I’d be there for you.

How many leagues do I have to sail
For me to get to you?
Just one. Or a thousand.
As long as I can reach you.

How many waves does it take
To crash my boat into a crag?
Just one. Or a thousand.
As much as my strength to fix your heart.

How many feet do I have to dive
To know how long we’d last?
Just one. Or a thousand.
As deep as how I feel for you.

How many mermaids can save me
From drowning?
Just one among a thousand.
And that would have to be you.

September 27, 2016

Leave a Comment

