Seven Words

Farewell to the friend I never knew.

I don’t know who you are. I don’t know how you look like. I don’t even know your name. But I know I lost a friend by the moment you said goodbye.

Our friendship was short lived. And I don’t know how we got close to each other with the little amount of time that we spent together. It was as if there was something that bonded us together. A ribbon to hold onto that we should never let go.

You were that cheerful girl who wouldn’t mind spending the whole day with me until tomorrow’s sunrise. I can hear you laughing in this silent world. I could still feel you beyond this distance I call a lightyear. Every hour I waited for you. Every hour I wanted to see your smile even if they’re just always colons and parentheses.

But soon those smiles faded, even if I didn’t see them fade at all. I can feel your depression as if your heart was just next to me. For every second that’s passing, I feel that you were letting the ribbon slip your hand. Are you getting weak, my darling? Or don’t you want to hold it anymore? Tell me, are you tired? Why won’t you say anything?

Don’t let me lose another person I care for.

Silently, you slipped away. And I have done not a thing to stop the unexpected. Your face once filled with smiles were now drowning with tears. And from this huge space between us, I couldn’t do anything. I couldn’t hold you. I couldn’t hug you. I couldn’t kiss you. I couldn’t do anything to stop you from crying.

And in an instant, you were gone. Like a bubble. Like a candle flame. Gone. All I know for now is that I’ll never have a time with you again.

I don’t know what happened to you. I don’t know where you went. But one thing is for sure. And these seven words can tell me.

“Thank you. You made me happy. Goodbye.”

I was the last thing that you thought of before you left.

Leave a Comment

