Penitent

I went to turn off the bedroom light. It is so quiet, so serene. The day ended just like that. I am still left wondering if I made a decision today that is bound to change my life. But, it seems I have been wondering the same thing the previous nights before. Those previous nights are just as quiet, just as serene and just as lonely.

Days pass, but does it even move at all? Everything is the same. I am still me, I am still alone.

If I cry, would things change, even just the slightest?

Tonight, I will lie on the same bed, in the same room, with the same sheets. The feeling of warm embrace will still be a thought; an imagination and a sad curiosity. The feeling that will remain to linger.

If only somebody would save me from this endless loop of self-haunting.

I am curled up in bed when I heard a knock on the door. I stood and held the knob. The coldness felt like a chilling vibration. I turn it and slowly opened the door.

A tear fell from my eyes not because of sadness, but because of fear.

September 2015

One thought on “Penitent

Leave a Comment

